The Age of Exploration

The moment you realize facts about a world that was foreign to you start coming to you freely is a bit unnerving. Not to say it’s a scary, bad thing by any means. It’s just that you experience a sense of pride about your new-found knowledge at the same time you are also coming to understand that you know so very little.

My first realization was as I was leaving the gym a couple days ago. The gym is in an old school building, and the parking lot was sort of slapped together in the back between the brick building and the freeway entrance. I give them points for creativity, but that parking lot is a pain in the ass to navigate with pockets of parking spots peppered in the natural driving path. This really could not have been the best way to put the lot together.

I digress.

Anyway, I generally look around quite a bit to make sure I’m not going to hit anyone coming around the corner. As I glanced to my left, I noticed a dark bike with red accents. My immediate thought was, “Oh, that’s Ducati red.” And my second thought was, “Damn, I just pulled that knowledge out of thin air.”

Charlie had explained brand colors to me in January this year at the Motorcycle show, and I was surprised it stuck.

Ever since, my motorcycle knowledge has been creeping up here and there, and my understanding of certain bikes has grown exponentially even in the past month. It’s amazing to me how much there is to know about bikes, how they work, the different makes, the styles, and various trends.

This project is causing me to learn a lot, quickly; and I know that I understand very little at this point in my exploration. Makes me want to learn about everything ever…it certainly helps to have someone who is eager and happy to educate me.

I should probably go read my factory service manual!

Leave a Reply

